2017 Full Schedule


The festival commences with one of the greatest living South Indian percussionists, V. Selvaganesh, who, like his father, is known for his work with John McLaughlin’s Shakti. Next, the fiery Hindustani sitarist Indro Roy Chowdhury performs. We then return to South, with the nine vocalists of Navatman Music Collective (one of the only Carnatic choirs in the world) singing ancient South Indian compositions.

10:00 AM V. Selvaganesh (kanjira) with S. Swaminathan (percussion) and others

11:00 AM Indro Roy Chowdhury (sitar), Suryaksha Deshpande (tabla)

12:00 PM Navatman Music Collective: Roopa Mahadevan with Shraddha Balasubramaniam, Kamini Dandapani, Parthiv Mohan, Vignesh Ravichandran,

Preetha Raghu, Prithvi Ramesh, Kaushik Ravi, Shiv Subramaniam (Carnatic vocal ensemble)



The afternoon is invoked by a Maestro traveling from Varanasi, Pandit Rabindra Narayan Goswami. Then we hear cutting-edge jazz, classical and new music from Woven by Anjna Swaminathan. Max ZT and Jay Gandhi give a tribute to their teachers, Shivkumar Sharma and Hariprasad Chaurasia and their beloved album “Call of the Valley.”

1:00 PM Rabindra Narayan Goswami (sitar), Ramu Pandit (tabla)

2:00 PM WOVEN: Anjna Swaminathan (violin) with Stephan Crump (bass), Naseem Alatrash (cello)

3:00 PM Recalling the Valley: Max ZT (hammered dulcimer), Jay Gandhi (bansuri), Ehren Hanson (tabla)



As late afternoon leads towards evening, the transcendent singing of Benares/Jaipur vocalist Falu manifests the mood to match the time. The Carnatic/Western violin duo of Arun Ramamurthy & Trina Basu create original works and explore traditional and contemporary sounds. The brilliant sitarist Abhik Mukherjee paints a sonic sunset in resonance with the red sky.

4:00 PM Falu Shah (vocal), Sameer Gupta (tabla), Arun Ramamurthy (violin)

5:00 PM Arun Ramamurthy (violin), Trina Basu (violin), Rich Stein (percussion), Michael Gam (bass)

6:00 PM Abhik Mukherjee (sitar), Shankh Lahiri (tabla)



We open the evening portion of the festival with the dazzling percussion duo of Samir and Dibyarka Chatterjee. The youngest son and disciple of Pt. Buddhadev Dasgupta, and an outstanding player in his own right, Anirban Dasgupta will then color our minds with the first moods of dusk on Sarod. Ganavya translates jazz standards to her native language of Tamil and recontextualizes Indian songs, showcasing her fluency in both jazz and Carnatic music.

7:00 PM Tabla Duet Samir Chatterjee & Dibyarka Chatterjee with Rohan Misra (sarangi)

8:00 PM Anirban Dasgupta (sarod), Mir Naqibul Islam (tabla)

9:00 PM Ganavya (vocal, with jazz ensemble)



We go deep into the nighttime rasa, or mood, with two of the brightest stars in New York City: the young Hindustani maestros Samarth Nagarkar and Jay Gandhi, both known for their evocative performances and the depth of their understanding of raga.

10:00 PM Samarth Nagarkar (vocal), Shankh Lahiri (tabla), Rohan Prabhudesai (harmonium)

11:00 PM Jay Gandhi (Bansuri), Suryaksha Deshpande (tabla)



At midnight we get our first taste of a traditional Carnatic ensemble. Then we will hear the innovative West African, Indian, and electronic explorations of Orakel.

12:00 AM Vignesh Ishwar (Carnatic vocal), accompanied by L. Ramakrishnan (violin), Akshay Anantapadmanabhan (mridangam), KV Gopalakrishnan (kanjira)

1:00 AM Orakel: Kane Mathis (kora, oud, electronics), Roshni Samlal (tabla)



During the darkest hours we present cutting-edge, cross-cultural and jazz explorations with The Epichorus, A Circle Has No Beginning by Sameer Gupta, Aakash Mittals Awaz Trio, and Aaron Shragge and Rez Abbasi’s duo. Camila Celin prepares us for the sunrise with North Indian Sarod.


2:00 AM The Epichorus: (Priya Darshini (vocals), Zach Fredman (oud), Max ZT (hammered dulcimer)Rich Stein (percussion), Uri Sharlin (accordion)

3:00 AM A Circle Has No Beginning by Sameer Gupta: Sameer Gupta (drumset, tabla), Marc Cary (piano), Brandee Younger (harp), Rashaan Carter (bass), Jay Gandhi (bansuri), Arun Ramamurthy (violin), Marika Hughes (cello), Pawan Benjamin (saxophone)

4:00 AM Aakash Mittals Awaz Trio: Aakash Mittal (saxophone), Alex Ritz (drums), Rez Abbasi (guitar)

5:00 AM Aaron Shragge (dragon mouth trumpet, shakuhachi), Rez Abbasi (guitar)

6:00 AM Camila Celin (sarod), Hiren Chate (tabla)



We complete the cycle of time upstairs and witness the return of light as we hear morning ragas played by Eric Fraser with the rare gayaki-ang or “vocal style” style he is preserving on the bansuri. Deepal Chodhari then brings her magic touch on the 72-stringed santoor. The transcendent vocalist Mitali Bhawmik will close the 24-hour cycle.

7:00 AM Eric Fraser (bansuri), Ehren Hanson (tabla)

8:00 AM Deepal Chodhari (santoor), Shiva Ghoshal (tabla)


9:00 AM Mitali Bhawmik (vocal), Amod Dandawate (tabla), Sanatan Goswami (harmonium)